Learning Resources on Women's Political Participation

/sites/default/files/styles/main_image/public/images/2018-07/Adams_Abigail%20square.jpg | Abigail Smith Adams Biography | https://www.womenshistory.org/education-resources/biographies/abigail-adams | Hailed for her admonition that the Founding Fathers “remember the ladies” in their new laws, Abigail Adams was not only an early advocate for women’s rights, she was a vital confidant and advisor to her husband, President John Adams.
/sites/default/files/styles/main_image/public/images/2017-07/Silhouette_Square.png | Beverly LaHaye Biography | https://www.womenshistory.org/education-resources/biographies/beverly-lahaye | Beverly LaHaye has been an influential voice in American conservative politics for decades. Her activism spawned the creation of one of the foremost political action groups for conservative women, Concerned Women for America.
/sites/default/files/styles/main_image/public/images/2018-07/Rice_Condoleezza_US_Dept_State%20square.jpg | Condoleezza Rice Biography | https://www.womenshistory.org/education-resources/biographies/condoleezza-rice | Among her many accomplishments and historic firsts, Condoleezza Rice was the first Black woman to serve as U.S. Secretary of State.
/sites/default/files/styles/original_resolution/public/images/2020-08/Creating%20a%20Female%20Political%20Culture.jpg | Creating a Female Political Culture | http://www.crusadeforthevote.org/creating-a-female-political-culture | This online exhibit examines the development of a distinct female political culture and imagery that evolved to promote voting rights for women.
https://www.womenshistory.org/sites/default/files/styles/original_resolution/public/images/2020-10/Charlotta%20Spears%20Bass%20Square.png | Charlotta Spears Bass Biography | https://www.womenshistory.org/education-resources/biographies/charlotta-spears-bass | Charlotta Spears Bass was a journalist, activist, & politician who fought for the civil rights of African Americans. She was also the first Black woman to run for vice president of the U.S.
/sites/default/files/styles/main_image/public/images/2018-07/Roosevelt_Eleanor_LOC_3c07008v%20square.jpg | Eleanor Roosevelt Biography | https://www.womenshistory.org/education-resources/biographies/eleanor-roosevelt | A shy, insecure child, Eleanor Roosevelt would grow up to become one of the most important and beloved First Ladies, authors, reformers, and female leaders of the 20th century.
/sites/default/files/styles/original_resolution/public/images/2020-09/First%20But%20Not%20the%20Last%281%29.png | First but Not the Last | https://www.womenshistory.org/exhibits/first-not-last | Virtual exhibit on women who ran for president
/sites/default/files/styles/main_image/public/images/2018-07/Clinton_Hillary%20square.jpg | Hillary Clinton Biography | https://www.womenshistory.org/education-resources/biographies/hillary-clinton | In July of 2016, Hillary Rodham Clinton became the first woman in history to represent a major party in a United States presidential election.
/sites/default/files/styles/original_resolution/public/images/2020-09/Women%20of%20the%20Democratic%20Party.png? | History of Women in the Democratic Party | https://www.womenshistory.org/articles/history-women-democratic-party | Making a political party
/sites/default/files/styles/original_resolution/public/images/2020-10/Laura%20Bush%20Square.png | Laura Bush Biography | https://www.womenshistory.org/laura-bush | Laura Bush, former First Lady of the United States, is an advocate for literacy, education, and women’s rights.
/sites/default/files/styles/main_image/public/images/2017-07/Silhouette_Square.png | Mercy Otis Warren Biography | https://www.womenshistory.org/education-resources/biographies/mercy-otis-warren | Mercy Otis Warren was a published poet, political playwright and satirist during the age of the American Revolution
/sites/default/files/styles/original_resolution/public/images/2020-09/Women%20of%20the%20Republican%20Party.png | History of Women in the Republican Party | https://www.womenshistory.org/articles/history-women-republican-party | Women of the Grand Old Party
/sites/default/files/styles/original_resolution/public/images/2020-09/Tea%20with%20Penelope%281%29.png | Lesson Plan: Tea with Penelope | https://www.womenshistory.org/resources/lesson-plan/tea-penelope | In this lesson, students will use a graphic organizer to analyze and evaluate a political cartoon for its meaning, value and persuasive message.
/sites/default/files/styles/original_resolution/public/images/2020-09/Mari%CC%81a%20Teresa%20Kumar%20Square.png | María Teresa Kumar Biography | https://www.womenshistory.org/education-resources/biographies/maria-teresa-kumar | Biography of voting rights activist María Teresa Kumar
/sites/default/files/styles/main_image/public/images/2018-07/Chisholm_Shirley%20square.jpg | Shirley Chisholm Biography | https://www.womenshistory.org/education-resources/biographies/shirley-chisholm | Biography of Shirley Chisholm, the first African American woman in Congress
/sites/default/files/styles/original_resolution/public/images/2020-09/Woman%20Living%20Here%20Registere%20to%20Vote.png | Women’s Political Participation After 1920 | https://www.womenshistory.org/articles/womens-political-participation-after-1920-myth-and-reality | Read about the myth vs. reality of women's political participation after 1920