Suffragist Biographies

Women Who Built A Movement
/sites/default/files/styles/original_resolution/public/images/2018-07/Anthony_Susan%20square.jpg | Susan B. Anthony | https://www.womenshistory.org/education-resources/biographies/susan-b-anthony | Susan B. Anthony was a champion of the temperance, abolition, and suffrage movements.
/sites/default/files/styles/main_image/public/images/2018-07/Bloom_Amelia_Public_Domain_from1881book%20square.png? | Amelia Bloomer | https://www.womenshistory.org/education-resources/biographies/amelia-bloomer| Amelia Bloomer was a suffragist, editor, social activist, and fashion advocate who worked to change women’s clothing.
/sites/default/files/styles/original_resolution/public/images/2020-08/Martha_M_Hughes_Cannon%20Square.jpg | Martha Hughes Cannon | https://www.womenshistory.org/education-resources/biographies/martha-hughes-cannon | Martha Hughes Cannon was the first female state senator in U.S. history.
/sites/default/files/styles/main_image/public/images/2018-07/Catt_Carrie_Chapman%20square.jpg | Carrie Chapman Catt | https://www.womenshistory.org/education-resources/biographies/carrie-chapman-catt | Carrie Chapman Catt was a suffragist and peace activist who helped secure for American women the right to vote.
/sites/default/files/styles/main_image/public/images/2017-07/Silhouette_Square.png? | Sarah B. Cochran | https://www.womenshistory.org/education-resources/biographies/sarah-cochran | Once called America's only Coal Queen, Sarah B. Cochran was a coal industry leader and philanthropist in an era when American women couldn't universally vote or serve on juries.
/sites/default/files/styles/main_image/public/images/2018-07/Crandall_Prudence%20square.jpg | Prudence Crandall | https://www.womenshistory.org/education-resources/biographies/prudence-crandall | Prudence Crandall bravely defied prevailing patterns of racial discrimination when she opened one of the first schools for African American girls in Connecticut in 1833.
/sites/default/files/styles/main_image/public/images/2018-10/Grimke_Sarah%20LOC%20square.jpg? | Sarah Moore Grimké | https://www.womenshistory.org/education-resources/biographies/sarah-moore-grimke | Sarah Grimké and her sister fought for abolition and women's rights.
/sites/default/files/styles/main_image/public/images/2018-07/Weld_Angelina_Grimke%20square.jpg? | Angelina Grimké Weld | https://www.womenshistory.org/education-resources/biographies/angelina-grimke-weld | Although raised on a slave-owning plantation, Angelina Grimké Weld became an ardent abolitionist.
/sites/default/files/styles/original_resolution/public/images/2020-08/FEWH.png | Frances E. W. Harper | https://www.womenshistory.org/education-resources/biographies/frances-ellen-watkins-harper | Frances Ellen Watkins Harper was not only the first African American woman to publish a short story, but she was also an influential abolitionist, suffragist, and reformer that co-founded the National Association of Colored Women’s Clubs.
/sites/default/files/styles/main_image/public/images/2018-07/Howe_Julia_Ward%20square.jpg?itok=9gX4R52c | Julia Ward Howe | https://www.womenshistory.org/education-resources/biographies/julia-ward-howe | Julia Ward Howe was a writer, lecturer, abolitionist and suffragist.
/sites/default/files/styles/original_resolution/public/images/2020-08/Jovita%20Ida%CC%81r%20Square.png | Jovita Idár | https://www.womenshistory.org/education-resources/biographies/jovita-idar | Mexican-American journalist, activist, and suffragist, Jovita Idár often faced dangerous situations, however she bravely fought the injustices in her time.
/sites/default/files/styles/main_image/public/images/2018-07/Keller_Helen%20square.jpg? | Hellen Keller | https://www.womenshistory.org/education-resources/biographies/helen-keller | Undeterred by deafness and blindness, Helen Keller rose to become a major 20th century humanitarian, educator and writer. She advocated for the blind and for women’s suffrage and co-founded the American Civil Liberties Union.
/sites/default/files/styles/original_resolution/public/images/2020-08/Mabel%20Ping-Hua%20Lee%20Square.png | Mabel Ping-Hua Lee | https://www.womenshistory.org/education-resources/biographies/mabel-ping-hua-lee | In a 1912 New York Times article, Mabel Ping-Hua Lee was regarded as “the symbol of the new era, when all women will be free and unhampered.”
/sites/default/files/styles/main_image/public/McCormick_Ruth_Hanna%20square.jpg | Ruth Hanna McCormick Simms | https://www.womenshistory.org/education-resources/biographies/ruth-hanna-mccormick-simms | Ruth Hanna McCormick Simms was a Republican United States Representative from Illinois who served from 1929 to 1931.
/sites/default/files/styles/main_image/public/images/2018-07/Mott_Lucretia_Coffin_LOC_275011v%20square.jpg | Lucretia Mott | https://www.womenshistory.org/education-resources/biographies/lucretia-mott | Lucretia Mott argued as ardently for women’s rights as for black rights, including suffrage, education, and economic aid.
/sites/default/files/styles/main_image/public/images/2018-07/Alice_paul.2jpg%20square.jpg | Alice Paul | https://www.womenshistory.org/education-resources/biographies/alice-paul | A vocal leader of the 20th century women’s suffrage movement, Alice Paul advocated for and helped secure passage of the 19th Amendment.
/sites/default/files/styles/main_image/public/images/2018-07/Stanton_Eizabeth_Cady_LOC_3a28976r%20square.jpg | Elizabeth Cady Stanton | https://www.womenshistory.org/education-resources/biographies/elizabeth-cady-stanton | Author, lecturer, and chief philosopher of the woman’s rights and suffrage movements.
/sites/default/files/styles/main_image/public/images/2018-07/Stone_Lucy_LOC_3d02055v%20square.jpg? | Lucy Stone | https://www.womenshistory.org/education-resources/biographies/lucy-stone | A leading suffragist and abolitionist, Lucy Stone dedicated her life to battling inequality on all fronts.
/sites/default/files/styles/main_image/public/images/2018-07/Terrell_Mary_Church_LOC_3b47842v%20square.jpg | Mary Church Terrell | https://www.womenshistory.org/education-resources/biographies/mary-church-terrell | Mary Church Terrell was a well-known African American activist who championed racial equality and women’s suffrage.
/sites/default/files/styles/original_resolution/public/images/2020-08/Sojourner%20Truth%20Square.png? | Sojourner Truth | https://www.womenshistory.org/education-resources/biographies/sojourner-truth | A former slave, Sojourner Truth was an advocate for abolition, temperance, and civil and women’s rights in the 19th century.
/sites/default/files/styles/original_resolution/public/images/2020-08/Harriet%20Tubman%20Square.png | Harriet Tubman | https://www.womenshistory.org/education-resources/biographies/harriet-tubman | Harriet Tubman escaped enslavement and helped others reach freedom.
/sites/default/files/styles/main_image/public/images/2017-10/Ida_B_Wells_Square.png? | Ida B. Wells-Barnett | https://www.womenshistory.org/education-resources/biographies/ida-b-wells-barnett | Ida B. Wells-Barnett was a prominent journalist, suffragist, activist, and researcher. |