American Women Quarters™️ Honoree Posters

Celebrate the women featured in the American Women Quarters Program!

2022 Series

The first five women to be honored on coins issued under the American Women Quarters™ Program are Maya Angelou, world-renowned poet and scholar; Wilma Mankiller, the first female Principal Chief of the Cherokee Nation and an activist for Native American and women’s rights; Adelina Otero-Warren, a leader in New Mexico’s suffrage movement and the first female superintendent of Santa Fe public schools; Dr. Sally Ride, the first American woman in space and first acknowledged gay astronaut; and Anna May Wong, the first Chinese American film star in Hollywood, achieving international success despite racism and discrimination, will be the first distinguished American women celebrated on the reverse of the program’s circulating quarters.  Download classroom-ready posters at links below.


2023 Series

The five women celebrated in the second year of the American Women Quarters™ Program are Bessie Coleman, the first African American and first Native American woman pilot; Edith Kanaka'ole, indigenous Hawaiian composer and custodian of native culture and traditions; Eleanor Roosevelt, first lady, author, and civil liberties advocate;  Jovita Idár, Mexican-American journalist, activist, teacher, and suffragist; and Maria Tallchief, America's first prima ballerina. Download classroom-ready posters at links below.